Drinking Under the Moon

"Poetry and hums aren't things which you get, they're things which get you. All you can do is go where they can find you" – A.A. Milne, Winnie-the-Pooh

prosopagnosia

        I see and

      Yet at the same time

     I do not see at all. Your features

–      Eyes (green), nose, pillow lips sitting

Gently on your face. I cannot place you now, and yet know you.

I know your smell and you are young, in my mind still perfect

Like the day we met – you in your vest and cap.

Your voice melts my heart of wax – I remember feelings still, but your features are a jigsaw – a map of pieces that do not tessellate.

And then I wonder, how can I forget a face like yours,

Let me focus, darling, drink you in and tattoo you

Into my mind again so I can have you written there

That I might build your

Face again.

NB. Taken from BBC article about medical condition Prosopagnosia – the degenerative disease affecting eyesight and the ability to recognize faces. Often the sufferer is born with the disease. Yet it can also be caused by head trauma in a specific place, affecting 2% of the population.

Leave a Reply

