Drinking Under the Moon

"Poetry and hums aren't things which you get, they're things which get you. All you can do is go where they can find you" – A.A. Milne, Winnie-the-Pooh

Why my blog is like a love-letter.

One of the questions I am most often asked when I tell people about my blog is why do you have it? The flippant answer would of course be because I want one. Why else? In its most binary sense, a blog is a platform of dedication. Updating and uploading is a discipline that like most other hobbies requires effort and time. To be able to maintain this over an extended period is something to be proud of. Moreover, there is the obvious note of enjoyment from placing your own precious writings onto a platform of criticism and being able to solicit a  response. In an age where creativity is so vast and all-consuming to our culture, that it is perfectly easy to remain completely unacknowledged.

 

With all of that in mind, I would go on to imply that this standard response is one  the inquirer would expect to receive. There is no expectation of a creative, soul-searching response. If  I were to give one I feel it would sound pretentious and probably be ill received. On the other hand, this does not mean that is isn’t there. For me this blog is not only a practice of firm discipline teamed with a tense fear of rejection in the world of the critics that I believe must be faced if I am to remain earnest in my insistence to be a creative.  One must be prepared for public reception as a means of justification of talent. This blog is the shell to my cancerian nature. It is the dark recess of my own phycology where I choose to analyze and therefore realize my feelings. To me it allows for the waves of emotion to be managed and controlled though the exertion of something creative instead of destructive. It is my councillor.

 

At this point you may well think that those are the words of a self-proclaimed and probably vastly over-analysing literature student. That may well be the case, but I find sense in  the Renaissance critic George Puttenham who suggests the importance of poetics as;

…’A manner of utterance more eloquent and rhetorical than ordinary prose which we use in our daily talk,  because it is decked out in all manner of fresh colours  and figures, which maketh that it sooner invigileth the Judgment of man, and carrieth his opinion this way and that, wither soever the heart.’…

Thus, Puttenham implies that the poetry is the form of writing that can best sway the hearts of man because of its colorful nature. It is this then that appeals, surely because of its reference as a painting of colour and figure it is capable of having the same creative effect. In relation to my poetry, I strive to find and eloquence to accurately portray feelings and emotions – which I am then able to share on my blog.

 

Furthermore, through doing this there is a sense of release. It is only likened to sending a love letter. Once posted through the mouth of the letterbox, those tentative feelings are rushed with it. We cannot know when it will be read, nor when it will be delivered. We cannot see a response that is completely raw, as we were when we wrote it. Only a formulated “comment” or a carefully written letter back. This ache of time and unknowing is something that all authors feel. Whether that be the writer of a letter, novel or poem. Thus this carrion of love and soul is something more for the self than for its recipients. Just like the letter, it is sent without knowledge of a reciprocated tenderness and most probably with a resignation to potential rejection. It is however a weight lifted – a sentiment thrown to the wind and away from a heavy heart that binds it in knots. Thus, my blog is a metaphorical posting of a love letter – no need for response, or for you to reciprocate. Merely to read and to treasure and hide away, for dipping into when no-one else is looking.

Leave a Reply

