Drinking Under the Moon

"Poetry and hums aren't things which you get, they're things which get you. All you can do is go where they can find you" – A.A. Milne, Winnie-the-Pooh

For Y.

Let me fall freely – breaking at the bottom.

Leave me in my own darkness that I might be lost in it.

Because now I am breaking,

melting

into

the

ground

 

This heart of mine is stained like a smokers lungs –

Filled up with black sticky tar.

It suffocates me so I can take only shallow breaths.

 

Then

You

Sit

Me

Perpetually, bi-annually, regularly, purposefully

You come back to me as if there was never distance.

 

Frustrate my thoughts and cut them out

Make a scrapbook of my feelings because then,

Darling,

You can keep them to yourself and own this little part of me.

Leave a Reply

