Drinking Under the Moon

"Poetry and hums aren't things which you get, they're things which get you. All you can do is go where they can find you" – A.A. Milne, Winnie-the-Pooh

Pocket rocket

 

A pocket rocket going faster

Than you could usher from disaster.

You took my little life,

And cherished me through pain and strife.

Held me gently, closely, kindly,

And loved me from that moment blindly.

And there you are,

Cowboy hat and combats, the family lucky star –

With walking stick and gilet on,

And strides so long that I must run.

An Atlas to my fragile earth,

Who shares in all my joys and mirth.

In this long parade to adulthood

It is beside me where you’ve always stood.

 

 

Written for my Fathers Birthday – 12th July 2014

Leave a Reply

