Drinking Under the Moon

"Poetry and hums aren't things which you get, they're things which get you. All you can do is go where they can find you" – A.A. Milne, Winnie-the-Pooh

Fall Fast, (its a long way down.)

We are fools at love,

Bad at loving in an age where love is being destroyed.

At a time when we have to be cold in love and mean in love

To make them keen for love.

 

But you make me want to be warm, like a fire pit of love

A little bit of hell in love to make you feel the love

I want you to give me love, make me fall in love

Fall fast and hard in love, hit the floor in love –  (It’s a long way down). fight the love and unrequited the love and then come back to love. I want to hit and spit and cry in love, then fuck and kiss and fly through love.

 

Darling, you and I are an old fashioned love –marry, three kids and a house kinda love. We’ll be old and kind and still in love, we have the fire that burns the hate, and the air that dusts the embers of the grate. And I love you. I love you.

 

 

written 2013, Slam poetry assignment.

Leave a Reply

