Drinking Under the Moon

"Poetry and hums aren't things which you get, they're things which get you. All you can do is go where they can find you" – A.A. Milne, Winnie-the-Pooh

Pandoras Box

I

Take me back to where the wind whispers songs

and the air tastes like cold spring water.

I want to stand on a hill with you and laugh until the grass turns wet with cold –

Until the birds are sleeping, their children chirping warmly in downy nests.

while we are young and sleepless –

II

I will stay with you and dine  on your chuckles,

as you shake your head at the soft moss mattress.

We stand and watch the night creep in

to wait until we are boxed in on earth,

when the last of the sun is shut away and we are alone in Pandora’s box.

All the troubles that bubble when the sun comes up are forgotten.

III

Mummified in this cool dark.

sentimental and sad we stand to face to face with the stars

Again and again I have fallen from you,

lost a little in infatuation and  beauty of it all.

But here I am shut away with my vanity

and you my dear are hope.

2 comments on “Pandoras Box

  1. chrisnelson61
    November 26, 2014

    Sad how ‘time’ eats away at us and leaves us with nostalgia and half-memories. I love your phrasiology – hugely evocative.

    • mcordenlloyd
      November 26, 2014

      Thank you so much! I am glad you can relate to and enjoy my poetry – it means a lot that it is understood. And yes, part of the reason I write is that i might capture that nostalgia.

Leave a Reply

