Drinking Under the Moon

"Poetry and hums aren't things which you get, they're things which get you. All you can do is go where they can find you" – A.A. Milne, Winnie-the-Pooh

Untitled.

The shadows that walk beside you

close as an inuit kiss,

or that trail behind like a train of silk

are my constant nemesis.

you fall through my fingers like fabric,

incensed by your scent that tarred my weakening lungs.

This sticky mess of warmth that clings to alveoli

as I breathe in you.

and yet, my dear, you are not mine –

for now I wait. A sentinel that guards the guards upon your heart

and sit in a carriage of dreams. My secret path of secret love.

One comment on “Untitled.

  1. chrisnelson61
    November 26, 2014

    This is wonderfully evocative. I can really sense a longing and depth of emotion in this poem.

Leave a Reply

