Drinking Under the Moon

"Poetry and hums aren't things which you get, they're things which get you. All you can do is go where they can find you" – A.A. Milne, Winnie-the-Pooh

Waiting

I will let you go now, softly into the night,

knowing that there will be a time that I will not let you go,

that I will be able to whisper, ‘stay’ and you will stay.

And then, I will not have to wait here in the coldness until you are gone.

Fully gone,

until the light is a loud dot in the quiet dark, I will watch for you.

And even then, I might wait a while longer to cool myself

to gather up the parts you left me with.

 

When I have you and when you are fully mine,

I will know it.

I will know it because it will only take a word for you to to stay,

or, maybe even a look, or perhaps you will ask if you can stay

and i’ll not need to

because here will be a home for you, wherever I am.

Like wherever you are is mine.

 

 

Leave a Reply

