Drinking Under the Moon

"Poetry and hums aren't things which you get, they're things which get you. All you can do is go where they can find you" – A.A. Milne, Winnie-the-Pooh

Junk Boat

Do you dare love a heart that saves you.

Or do you wait marooned in search of passing ships

that will take you to other shores.

 

I pass slower than most, in my ship.

It is older than some and it waits upon gentler tides.

the wind sings a lullaby as we sail oh so quietly

 

Swim to the shore, it sings to me

and so I swim further and further from my old boat,

whose sails are a little frayed and paintwork flecks off

like a snake crawling from its sheath skin.

 

I swim to your island, because you would not come otherwise.

I swim because you are alone, and you are marooned

but the sand is not my home and my boat is not yours.

 

And while I would drown to carry you across even the wildest sea,

you would not even swim halfway for me.

 

Forgive me, then. That I cannot stay.

 

but watch for the light in the far off bay

you will find me and my junk boat there

should you ever want to swim one day.

 

Leave a Reply

